Instagram: Let Your Followers Take the Lead

Sophia Bernazzini’s article about successful Instagram campaigns only reinforces what I’ve spent my time in Social Media Tools and Strategies learning: your customers want to have a genuine emotion about your brand or an experience with your products. They want to feel like they’re a part of something.

This led me to brainstorm a few Instagram posts I am planning on creating in the near future. For one thing, I am doing a bridal show in September (which you should totally check out!) and I think in the weeks leading up to it, I can post photos or videos related to:

  • my own wedding, such as photos and memories of my great day
  • small detailed shots of wedding items with beloved quotes about love and marriage
  • people looking at my bridal products and reacting to them
  • questions or “opinion polls” to engage followers directly

There are also a few holidays and events coming up (fall, back-to-school, Halloween, etc.), which would be an excellent time to experiment with:

  • cohesive, fall-themed graphic design posts about events and products
  • reposts of people who receive one of my cards or prints as a gift
  • #TBT of myself and my family at Halloween time, sharing traditions that matter to me and are relatable to others 🎃
  • customer reviews from Etsy, vendor sales, etc. as text graphics

Overall, I think I use Instagram for my artwork and products pretty effectively, but I don’t start a lot of conversations through my posts. That’s how The UPS Store, Aerie, and other large companies have been able to use Instagram to become a part of their customers’ lifestyle. Do you feel connected to the brands and shops you follow on Instagram? How do you engage as a follower? Does it differ from the way you engage as a creator and/or business?

Om nom nom!

Will return Holiday 2017, tinyrevelations.etsy.com

One thought on “Instagram: Let Your Followers Take the Lead

  1. Pingback: Final Presentation: Social Media Tools & Strategies | Sarah Caputo Art

Leave a Reply

